The Cellar  

Go Back   The Cellar > Main > Food and Drink

Food and Drink Essential to sustain life; near the top of the hierarchy of needs

Old 06-28-2005, 08:52 PM   #1
melidasaur
Traded your soul for pogs.

vanilla

The ice cream thread talked a little bit about vanilla... vanilla beans do rock. However, I was shopping at my local gourmet food shoppe today - I am a competative baker and it is time to reload on some staples (fine baking chocolates and flavorings). I was looking at their selection of vanilla extracts and was surprised by the different types. Mexican vanilla, Tahitian Vanilla, Bourbon Vanilla... Does anyone use any of these different types on a regular basis? How do the flavors differ from straight up plain ol' vanilla extract. I like to use different flavors in my baked goods, so any info would be appreciated.
Old 06-28-2005, 09:02 PM   #2
Clodfobble
UNDER CONDITIONAL MITIGATION

A local ice cream shop serves what they call "Mexican Vanilla" ice cream. It tastes a little less sweet (does that make it more savory?) and a little beanier, if that makes sense...

I dunno, my taste buds are underachievers.
Clodfobble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 09:50 PM   #3
zippyt
LONG LIVE KING ZIPPY! per Feetz

my wife was shopping at wally world a while back , she was looking in the ethnic section , she freaked out when she found a "fith " sized bottle of vanila extract , when she got home we tasted both and couldn't tell a difference .
Old 06-28-2005, 10:30 PM   #4
wolf
lobber of scimitars

You gotta be careful on the Vanilla Extracts, because there are a lot of bad artificially flavored ones (check your fine print).

Vanilla extract is a favorite of hard core drunks because, like listerine, it's a lot easier to steal than real booze.