The Cellar  

Go Back   The Cellar > Main > Home Base

Home Base A starting point, and place for threads don't seem to belong anywhere else

Old 11-24-2013, 07:20 PM   #1
Nirvana
Back in 10

I am not a professional

I have always worked on our farm and the other business that I owned and managed. We have reduced the number of cattle we have so chores are less. The last time I applied for a job I was 18 years old. I guess I am bored but would like the extra money a part time job would offer. I made a resume which basically shows I am unskilled labor with an education. I have no work history other than self employment and I occasionally cut material at home for a clothing designer.

I started applying for jobs when I would be on the phone with my friend who was desperately looking for work. I was trying to be supportive and help her look at the online jobs available. We both applied to a small candy factory that is a very close knit group. They called me for an interview 2 months later. I have to say I was very surprised but how hard can it be to work in a candy factory? Who wouldn't want to work in a small candy factory? I have an interview tomorrow.

QUESTION: What should I take to the interview besides myself?
Old 11-24-2013, 07:37 PM   #2
fargon
Person who doesn't update the user title

My best wishes.
Heavily medicated for the good of mankind.
fargon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 08:09 PM   #3
Clodfobble
UNDER CONDITIONAL MITIGATION

Wear nice clothes and a smile. That ought to do it.
Clodfobble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 08:45 PM   #4
gvidas
Hoodoo Guru

Three brief anecdotes from your time being self-employed, each one clearly and concisely demonstrating one of the following: leadership, problem solving, self-directed time management, responsibility, etc.

If it's purely a manual-labor type gig, focus on self direction, time management, problem solving, and responsibility.
gvidas is offline   Reply With Quote