The Cellar  

Go Back   The Cellar > Main > Philosophy
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Philosophy Religions, schools of thought, matters of importance and navel-gazing

Old 11-27-2010, 04:47 PM   #1
freshnesschronic
Professor

Speaking in tongues

Glossolalia - speaking in tongues.

My girlfriend said her aunt was speaking in tongues talking directly to Jesus when she was hospitalized, but my girl describes her aunt as a religious fanatic and calls it out as BS....

I have no personal experience other than that, what do you think....

Real or no?
freshnesschronic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 05:56 PM   #2
Bullitt
This is a fully functional babe lair

This is a deep and foundational part of Pentecostalism. It's a fascinating offshoot of Protestantism. I attended an Apostolic (one of many Pentecostal denominations) revival service one time with probably 100 people in it. They are big on laying of hands and speaking in tongues. In short, they see speaking in tongues as a sign that the Holy Spirit has personally touched someone and they are of pure heart and faith. Supposed to be an angelic language or something like that, and there are elders within the church that are supposed to translate the gibberish for the rest of the people. Personally I call BS, but whatever floats your boat. Among this branch of Christianity also lie the equally fascinating snake handling folks.
Old 11-27-2010, 05:57 PM   #3
xoxoxoBruce
The future is unwritten

Real to whom? Certainly not to anyone that can't understand the "tongues". But I suppose it's real to the ones doing it.
Old 11-27-2010, 07:44 PM   #4
piercehawkeye45
Franklin Pierce

I knew someone who grew up in that type of church Bullitt. She couldn't properly speak in tongues when she was nine so the church told her she was harboring the devil or something crazy like that. She had some definite self esteem issues so I'm assuming that didn't help.