The Cellar  

Go Back   The Cellar > Main > Philosophy
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Philosophy Religions, schools of thought, matters of importance and navel-gazing

Old 07-29-2009, 03:59 PM   #1
Undertoad
Radical Centrist

Mike Rowe video on lamb castration and sacrificing some sacred cows

Originally a TED talk but appears in higher resolution via YT.

20 minutes of your time. Awesome.

Undertoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 08:03 PM   #2
kerosene
Touring the facilities

Interesting thoughts. I like Mike Rowe. He seems real. Thanks for sharing this, UT.
kerosene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 08:22 PM   #3
Pico and ME
Are you knock-kneed?

I think the reason people who work in manual labor jobs are happier is because they dont take their work home with them. I was a manager for Hyatt working 60+ hours a week and I dont think I knew a moment of peace the entire 5 years I was there. I lived with the stress of the job 24/7. Of course, the fact that I'm not cut out for management played a huge role, but but I only took the job because it had 'status' of sorts. Now I am watering plants in a garden center and I love the job. Before that I sold mens suits in a department store and I loved that job. Neither one of them added stress to my daily life. There is a certain freedom there.
Pico and ME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 09:26 PM   #4
TheMercenary
“Hypocrisy: prejudice with a halo”

Eh. It is what you make of it. We all take a little bit home with us. Some more than others. I think it speaks more about the person than the job as to how much we project our job stress on others.
Old 07-29-2009, 09:50 PM   #5
Shawnee123
Why, you're a regular Alfred E Einstein, ain't ya?

And making money affords us a certain freedom: to take a little vacation, to maybe buy a shirt we like, to go to a bookstore and buy that cool artbook we never could have bought before.