The Cellar  

Go Back   The Cellar > Main > Home Base

Home Base A starting point, and place for threads don't seem to belong anywhere else

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2013, 01:15 PM   #1
Lamplighter
Person who doesn't update the user title
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bottom lands of the Missoula floods
Posts: 6,402
Products that don't exist yet, but should

If I get my TV and/or internet and/or telephone via a phone wire
or cable or antenna wire coming into my house,
why do I need nineteen different components, each with their own
mini-transformer, dongles, and yards of spaghetti-wiring ?

I want only one wire/cable coming into my house connecting to one wireless router.
This generic router should have only one wire connecting to any 110v power source.
All the other components (TV's, monitors, computers, phones, printers, security cameras, etc.
should be like an electric alarm clock... a single plug for power.

All TV's, computers, play stations, smart phones, toys, security cameras, drones ()
should run off of one generic kind of wireless mouse+remote control devise.

It would be even better if the ISP cable were eliminated, so the
signals coming into the house would instead came from satellites.

Only geeks understand/enjoy the current situation.
Lamplighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 02:33 PM   #2
Flint
Libturd Snowflake
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Coastal Elite
Posts: 12,223
You can turn the spaghetti into little bundles.

Just estimate how much length you actually need.
Attached Images
 
__________________
******************
There's a level of facility that everyone needs to accomplish, and from there
it's a matter of deciding for yourself how important ultra-facility is to your
expression. ... I found, like Joseph Campbell said, if you just follow whatever
gives you a little joy or excitement or awe, then you're on the right track.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Terry Bozzio
Flint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 12:10 PM   #3
Happy Monkey
I think this line's mostly filler.
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: DC
Posts: 12,785
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lamplighter View Post
I want only one wire/cable coming into my house connecting to one wireless router.
This generic router should have only one wire connecting to any 110v power source.
All the other components (TV's, monitors, computers, phones, printers, security cameras, etc.
should be like an electric alarm clock... a single plug for power.
Search for "usb wall outlet". Installing one of these will let anything that can be powered by USB use a standard cable, hiding the wall wart inside the wall. You won't get internet through that, but if you've got wifi, you don't need a cable for any wifi-aware devices.
Quote:
It would be even better if the ISP cable were eliminated, so the
signals coming into the house would instead came from satellites.
Satellites are slow, thanks to the speed of light. Municipal internet would have to be large-scale ground-tower-based ifi.
__________________
_________________
|...............| We live in the nick of times.
| Len 17, Wid 3 |
|_______________| [pics]
Happy Monkey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 12:51 PM   #4
Lamplighter
Person who doesn't update the user title
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bottom lands of the Missoula floods
Posts: 6,402
Quote:
Search for "usb wall outlet". Installing one of these will let anything that can be powered by USB use a standard cable,...
What am I missing here. I'm probably not understanding.
My search for "usb wall outlet" turns up wall outlets that "charge" USB devices.

Even if I do have wifi, isn't this concept going to require a wire running from each devise to a nearby wall plug ?
Or, is this include a way to distribute TV and network signals via the house-hold wiring, itself ?

Yes, I had heard from a cable-guy installer that satellites were too far away to give quick signal responses.
But still, that's only a minor problem and someone should be able to devise a simple work-around.
Lamplighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 01:13 PM   #5
Happy Monkey
I think this line's mostly filler.
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: DC
Posts: 12,785
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lamplighter View Post
What am I missing here. I'm probably not understanding.
My search for "usb wall outlet" turns up wall outlets that "charge" USB devices.

Even if I do have wifi, isn't this concept going to require a wire running from each devise to a nearby wall plug ?
Or, is this include a way to distribute TV and network signals via the house-hold wiring, itself ?
If your wifi is set up, and your device supports wifi, then you don't need any cable for internet, but you will need a power cable unless it runs on batteries. The USB charging wall outlet allows you to use a USB cable instead of a wall wart.

Television is a different story. You will need a direct coaxial connection to the cable box, so at least that one will need two cables. Some DVRs may then be able to stream video, or you could get something like a SlingBox to get he video to another device.

There are ways to use household wiring for internet, but that essentially puts an ethernet jack on the outlet, and two cables are still needed from that outlet to the device, so if wifi is viable, it is probably better, if your goal is minimizing wires.
__________________
_________________
|...............| We live in the nick of times.
| Len 17, Wid 3 |
|_______________| [pics]
Happy Monkey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 01:30 PM   #6
glatt
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 26,394
There are wifi enabled tvs now that will let you stream Netflix, Hulu, etc.
glatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 05:46 PM   #7
limey
Encroaching on your decrees
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: An island within the south-west coast of Scotland
Posts: 6,604
We just switched to satellite. We get 20mbps now. This is about 40 times faster than we used to get via landline.

Sent by thought transference
__________________
Living it up on the edge ... of civilisation, within the southwest coast of
limey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 07:03 PM   #8
ZenGum
Doctor Wtf
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Badelaide, Baustralia
Posts: 12,861
I'm sure this has been suggested before, and I can't believe it still isn't standard.

I go to the TV set, and I push the button marked "locate remote". The TV sends a signal to the remote control which begins beeping and doesn't stop until I find the #$%&er and press a button telling it to stop beeping.

If this were available, no-one would buy a TV without it again.
__________________
Shut up and hug. MoreThanPretty, Nov 5, 2008.
Just because I'm nominally polite, does not make me a pussy. Sundae Girl.
ZenGum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 08:39 PM   #9
Clodfobble
UNDER CONDITIONAL MITIGATION
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 18,820
My remote does that automatically... because it has to be recharged all the time, and beeps when the battery gets low. So either it's in the recharging cradle, or it's beeping until I find it.
__________________
My book
My spirit animal
Clodfobble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 08:43 AM   #10
Happy Monkey
I think this line's mostly filler.
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: DC
Posts: 12,785
You can get things that you can stick to a remote, to do that, but it does seem logical for it to be built in.
__________________
_________________
|...............| We live in the nick of times.
| Len 17, Wid 3 |
|_______________| [pics]
Happy Monkey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 09:14 AM   #11
glatt
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 26,394
The Roku has a headphone jack built into the remote, so audio has been done.

I wonder if there is a patent and a greedy inventor is looking for licensing fees nobody is willing to pay.

Edit: There are a ton of patents. The oldest is one where you clap your hands, and the remote chirps in response. That one is probably in the public domain by now since it issued in '85.

Last edited by glatt; 07-30-2013 at 09:25 AM.
glatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 07:15 PM   #12
ZenGum
Doctor Wtf
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Badelaide, Baustralia
Posts: 12,861
Heh, in highschool I had one of those key-finder things where you whistle and it goes beepbeepbeep. It was fine, until I was in music class with the kids with the flutes.
__________________
Shut up and hug. MoreThanPretty, Nov 5, 2008.
Just because I'm nominally polite, does not make me a pussy. Sundae Girl.
ZenGum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 08:14 AM   #13
glatt
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 26,394
This stuff is changing fast. Lamplighter, check this out. If you can get it onto your phone, you can get it onto your TV. Including YouTube videos. $35.

glatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 08:31 AM   #14
Sundae
polaroid of perfection
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: West Yorkshire
Posts: 24,185
Isn't roku Japanese for six?
Not relevant to this thread, just showing off something I learned this week.
__________________
Life's hard you know, so strike a pose on a Cadillac
Sundae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 09:30 AM   #15
Lamplighter
Person who doesn't update the user title
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bottom lands of the Missoula floods
Posts: 6,402
Quote:
This stuff is changing fast. Lamplighter, check this out.
If you can get it onto your phone, you can get it onto your TV.
Including YouTube videos. $35.
Yes Z, that's actually what prompted me to start this thread.

The $35 + Google's offer of free Netflix made their inventory sell out in just 1 day !
I've been reading the reviews...
The price is so low, people are embarrassed to complain.
But, there are a few issues... picky, picky, picky.
... some geek issues about sound options, picture quality, etc.

Apple TV and Chromecast will compete with one another to improve both.
Lamplighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.