The Cellar  

Go Back   The Cellar > Main > Home Base
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Home Base A starting point, and place for threads don't seem to belong anywhere else

Old 05-15-2004, 03:36 PM   #1
blue
Operations Operative

Gonna get this off my chest (long)

OK, I've been in IT, been the computer guy for 15 years. Recently I was the Systems Administrator for a major plastics manufacturer.

I was making the best money of my life. I grew up on a farm, don't have a college degree, am pretty much self taught. I love computers and gadgets, but had become very frustrated with my career for several years now.

At my last job I was THE ONLY IT guy in a plant of 300 people. I was responsible for 100+ workstations, anything that resembled a electronic device on the production floor, supporting 300 end users, rotating help desk duties one day a week for facilities all over the US.

I also provided BAAN support of which I had very little experience, I was in charge of producing & meeting all requirements for bar code data collection & labeling.

I was responsible for all inventorying, purchasing, research & approval, I averaged 6-8 hours in meetings each week, keep in mind since I'm the only guy there no work is being accomplished while attending meetings. My day on the helpdesk was 8 hours, so basically I have 3 days a week to do my real job. I was on call 1 week out of six for the entire corp., and on call 24/7 for my own facility.