The Cellar  

Go Back   The Cellar > Main > Creative Expression
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Creative Expression Post your own works and chat about them

Old 12-22-2008, 01:59 AM   #1
Razzmatazz13
Vicariously, I live...

Handmade Christmas

Last year my mom printed some picture off the internet of a gang of bunnies stealing a snowman's nose, and she asked me if I'd paint it for her. I told her I would, but never got around to it, because she wanted it exactly like the picture, and I'm just not that good at replicating things like that and didn't want to make it a half-assed attempt. I started doodling around in my notebooks earlier this year, and decided I was going to try to sketch out a few calvin and hobbes type snowmen, when I remembered the bunny. I ended up with a sketch of my own design, and I knew that wasn't going to be good enough for a present, so I decided to try my hand at clay modeling. I've never done any sort of sculpture work before, so I think this turned out pretty awesome. I just finished my first coat of paint on these guys, and was wondering what you think?

Starting the first coat of white paint

A bit more color

Working on Mr. Snowman

(green's my mom's favorite color)

Before

After

End Result:

Soon as I have photos for you guys, I can show you bits of the quilts I'm making, and also the knitted baby blanket I made for my friend's BRAND NEW BABY

Meanwhile, tell me what you think, or post your handmade gifts (christmas past, present, or future are all acceptable, as well as all other holidays, birthdays, or random days of giving)
Old 12-22-2008, 05:19 AM   #2
Sundae
polaroid of perfection

Wow! Razz that's wonderful!
Makes me want to go get some FIMO (even though I have nowhere near your talent)

So are you giving this to your Mum for Christmas?
I would cry if I were her. In fact I would cry even if I were there watching it.
Sundae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2008, 06:22 AM   #3
Trilby
Slattern of the Swail