The Cellar  

Go Back   The Cellar > Main > Home Base
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Home Base A starting point, and place for threads don't seem to belong anywhere else

Old 08-18-2003, 03:43 PM   #1
Torrere
a real smartass

Advice for the job-seeky?

As it turns out, walking down a busy street and asking for employment at any place that I find interesting (places with Tux, technology, photography, bookstores) has, thus far, proved to be an unsuccessful venture. Hence, I ask of you: what effective ways for a job-seeky man to become a workin' man? What are the nuances that ought to be employed in such a quest? What knowledge (about myself and the world) would further my purpose?

(Having recently completed several (4) years as a High School student, I have relocated to Seattle to find the world.)

- torrere on an ungood library keyboard
Torrere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2003, 04:17 PM   #2
xoxoxoBruce
The future is unwritten

Quote:
I have relocated to Seattle to find the world.
Sorry, it's in Philadelphia indefinitely. duck and cover:p

Go to the CEO's office. Check family photos for unmarried daughters, until you find the right company.
Old 08-18-2003, 04:57 PM   #3
Cedar
Questionist

The Wet Lonely Streets of Seattle

I remember when I blew into Seattle looking for a job many moons ago-- it took a lot of pavement pounding and a lot of rejections but I did find eventually what I was looking for. Several suggestions:

1. You need to get a survival job-- any job from flipping burgers to spilling coffee at Starbucks. Its always easier to find a job when you already have one.

2. You need to further your education somehow either by practical means or scholarly pursuits. A high school level education is only the beginning of your life's pursuits.