The Cellar  

Go Back   The Cellar > Main > Technology

Technology Computing, programming, science, electronics, telecommunications, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2019, 07:56 PM   #1
monster
I hear them call the tide
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perpetual Chaos
Posts: 30,544
Idiot Question paint.net

I'm on my new computer because the old one finally carked it. I want paint.net because I'm familiar with it and it does what I need to do and isn't too fancy. On previous computers, beest directed me to a trusted site to download it from. (I'm pretty sure it was not paint.net directly) I can't remember which it was. Help, please.
__________________
The most difficult thing is the decision to act, the rest is merely tenacity Amelia Earhart
monster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 08:08 PM   #2
Undertoad
Radical Centrist
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Cottage of Prussia
Posts: 31,279
ninite.com
Undertoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 08:13 PM   #3
monster
I hear them call the tide
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perpetual Chaos
Posts: 30,544
thanks! It's not the one we used before, so some more idiot questions: Is it free? I see a free trial.... does that mean a charge follows? do you trust it? tvmia
__________________
The most difficult thing is the decision to act, the rest is merely tenacity Amelia Earhart
monster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 08:55 PM   #4
Undertoad
Radical Centrist
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Cottage of Prussia
Posts: 31,279
It's free

I wouldn't do you wrong

No need to do that Ninite Pro or anything -- just tick off the things you want to install, and get it all in one safe download. Not only that but the apps they list are all safe and curated perfectly for years.
Undertoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 09:02 PM   #5
monster
I hear them call the tide
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perpetual Chaos
Posts: 30,544
you rock, thanks so much -I know you wouldn't, but I failed to specify free
__________________
The most difficult thing is the decision to act, the rest is merely tenacity Amelia Earhart
monster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 10:02 PM   #6
monster
I hear them call the tide
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perpetual Chaos
Posts: 30,544
Thank you, Yoot, much appreciated -doin' the things I need to do RFN
__________________
The most difficult thing is the decision to act, the rest is merely tenacity Amelia Earhart
monster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 06:14 AM   #7
Griff
still says videotape
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 26,616
You guys using Open Office?
__________________
If you would only recognize that life is hard, things would be so much easier for you.
- Louis D. Brandeis
Griff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 11:38 PM   #8
Gravdigr
The Un-Tuckian
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: South Central...KY that is
Posts: 39,314
oldversion.com
__________________


These statements have not been evaluated by the FDA, EPA, FBI, DEA, CDC, or FDIC. These statements are not intended to diagnose, cause, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. If you feel you have been harmed/offended by, or, disagree with any of the above statements or images, please feel free to fuck right off.
Gravdigr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 12:35 AM   #9
Undertoad
Radical Centrist
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Cottage of Prussia
Posts: 31,279
Open Office no, in fact LibreOffice is now the open source Office contender, but... well work got me a Microsoft setup for near free and I can't complain
Undertoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 06:14 AM   #10
Griff
still says videotape
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 26,616
noted thanks
__________________
If you would only recognize that life is hard, things would be so much easier for you.
- Louis D. Brandeis
Griff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 02:41 PM   #11
Dude111
An Awesome Dude
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 885
In so sorry Monster,I hope everything is ok from now

Did ya get it installed ok? (Paint)
Dude111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2020, 12:43 PM   #12
monster
I hear them call the tide
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perpetual Chaos
Posts: 30,544
Quote:
Originally Posted by monster View Post
I'm on my new computer because the old one finally carked it. I want paint.net because I'm familiar with it and it does what I need to do and isn't too fancy. On previous computers, beest directed me to a trusted site to download it from. (I'm pretty sure it was not paint.net directly) I can't remember which it was. Help, please.
so now....... I got a new printer/scanner because the old one carked it, and I can't figure out how to add it to the scanners -it automatically showed up as an option when printing from paint.net. I've use HP software to scan, so I know the scan function is working, but how do i get paint.net to see the new scanner? All the vaguely related discussions I have found online offer work-arounds rather than solutions. I believe the program is fully updated and I know my scanner is.

TIA
__________________
The most difficult thing is the decision to act, the rest is merely tenacity Amelia Earhart
monster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2020, 03:49 PM   #13
sexobon
^it sings^
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9,729
In Paint.net, can you: File>Open>Acquire>From Scanner or Camera … and does your new scanner show up as a choice?
sexobon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2020, 06:54 PM   #14
monster
I hear them call the tide
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perpetual Chaos
Posts: 30,544
Quote:
Originally Posted by sexobon View Post
In Paint.net, can you: File>Open>Acquire>From Scanner or Camera and does your new scanner show up as a choice?
no. only the old one. That is how I usually scan stuff. I know, I'm a complete amateur....
__________________
The most difficult thing is the decision to act, the rest is merely tenacity Amelia Earhart
monster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2020, 07:43 PM   #15
sexobon
^it sings^
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9,729
If you click on the search icon (magnifying glass) next to the start menu button in the lower left corner and type in "scan" at the bottom of the pop-up window, does your new scanner show up as a choice and can you open it?

The scanner needs to be powered on for this.

Last edited by sexobon; 04-07-2020 at 07:55 PM.
sexobon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.