The Cellar

The Cellar (http://cellar.org/index.php)
-   Technology (http://cellar.org/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Pure Mathematics (http://cellar.org/showthread.php?t=8940)

Kagen4o4 08-16-2005 01:33 AM

Pure Mathematics

is anyone else interested in it? Hurwitz integers? Gaussian integers? Fermat? factorising prime numbers? 4 dimensional cubes? Pascal? phi?

im studying them in my 4th year of university and id really like to have a conversation with someone about these things, theyre awesome.

wolf 08-16-2005 01:50 AM

I think I heard of Pascal.

That was a programming language when I was in college. ;)

It was a while back ... slightly before the birth of C. (not + or ++, mind you)

I have a high degree of math anxiety, but there is probably someone sufficiently nerdy to participate in a conversation of such things.

I specialize in witty commentary.

And screwing with people's delicate psyches.

I do have some knowledge of impure mathematics, however.

SteveDallas 08-16-2005 03:21 AM

I used to.. took a second major in math in college. I ignored all those nasty applications in favor of abstract algebra, real analysis, number theory, etc.

Now I'd be completely lost at anything more than simple algebra, though I like to think I could relearn it all if I applied myself. (I expect those who were athletes in their youth feel the same way about being out of shape.)

Kagen4o4 08-16-2005 03:45 AM

number theory and algebra are pretty much what im doing atm. although im also doing a subject that goes through all the cool little things that maths can be applied to with shapes, magic etc

Clodfobble 08-16-2005 08:28 AM

I dated a math major once in college. Boy THAT was an experience. He kept trying to explain his topology class to me, thinking it was one of the more "accessible" topics. :rolleyes:

Later, he would throw that very textbook at me in anger, but that's a different story...