The Cellar

The Cellar (http://cellar.org/index.php)
-   Health (http://cellar.org/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   This feckin getting old bullship (http://cellar.org/showthread.php?t=33732)

Griff 09-13-2018 05:37 PM

This feckin getting old bullship

Who is getting hearing aides? This mother fucker, that is all.

BigV 09-13-2018 05:56 PM

WHAT?

Griff 09-13-2018 05:59 PM

zackly

Clodfobble 09-13-2018 06:00 PM

Hearing aids are great! They protect you from further hearing loss. Better now than later.

Griff 09-13-2018 07:01 PM

I'm more interested in the Bluetooth function where I can pretend to be interested in a conversation while rocking out.

The bit about maintaining my brain cuz I can hear whats happening is kinda big as well.

orthodoc 09-13-2018 07:44 PM

You’ll be amazed at what you were missing.
Maintaining your brain is a pretty good benefit too.

xoxoxoBruce 09-13-2018 08:18 PM

I've been wearing them since 1981. Last time I was tested the Doc said the bad news is you can't hear shit, the good news is you can buy the $1,000 model because the $5,000 model with all the bells and whistles won't help.

Carruthers 09-14-2018 04:33 AM

Why are hearing aids such a global racket?

Some while ago Dad responded to an ad which promised him miraculous hearing improvement.

I told him that there was great risk of being taken to the cleaners and asked him to think again before I posted the letter.

However, once he makes up his mind forces greater than me aren't able to persuade him to change it.

An appointment was made and a few days later the sales bod turned up parking his very expensive car on our drive.

A lengthy 'consultation' took place with a thorough explanation of the technology and a demonstration of the aids.

This was followed by casual mention of the price. £3000!

After Dad expressed his surprise (understatement alert) the sales bod mustered as much dignity as he was able and left.

ETA: