The Cellar

The Cellar (http://cellar.org/index.php)
-   Home Base (http://cellar.org/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   A case of mistaken orientation (http://cellar.org/showthread.php?t=5545)

lumberjim 04-14-2004 11:55 AM

A case of mistaken orientation

For the Straight people:
Have you ever been "hit on" by a gay person? What did you do?

For Gay people:
I'm sure you've been hit on by the opposite sex. What do you do?

Happy Monkey 04-14-2004 11:59 AM

Yes. A guy at the ATM complimented my hair several times. I asked him if he was waiting for something, he asked if I was straight, and I said yes. He apologized and left.

blue 04-14-2004 12:01 PM

My wife tells me I'm the least observant person she knows.

And since I can't tell when I'm hit on by women, I've no idea if I've been hit on by a guy or not. I do know I've run into some that are just too friendly.

lumberjim 04-14-2004 12:03 PM

or is this too touchy a subject?

When I was a salesman, I took a test drive with a 40-45 yr old guy who was very complimentary to me about my looks. It made my skin crawl. I don;t think he actually hit on me, but he was definatley testing the water. I made sure to mention my wife several times.

When I was a waiter at Denny's, I had a steven segal type pony tail, and I had several offers from guys named Ramone. whook!

maybe I'm a homophobe. jinx says I am. I dunno, I'm not scared of gay people, but I am a little insensitive toward them at times.......

Pie 04-14-2004 12:06 PM

I was once invited to play for the other team. I said, "No, but thanks" and that was the end of that.

We still go drinking every couple of months...

- Pie

Telefunken 04-14-2004 12:10 PM

A corollary to this thread is "Do people mistake you for gay?"

I have this experience because I'm sensitive, eloquent, and I take care of my appearances. Also I have a background in creative arts.

OnyxCougar 04-14-2004 12:18 PM