The Cellar

The Cellar (http://cellar.org/index.php)
-   Philosophy (http://cellar.org/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   Mathematics? It's all just life. (http://cellar.org/showthread.php?t=5625)

Catwoman 04-23-2004 05:30 AM

Mathematics? It's all just life.

I am a writer and looking for ideas based on the 'life is just maths' theorem, e.g. how a beautiful face is just a measure of symmetry, and butterfly-flaps-wings-world-war-three-breaks-out type formulae. Any ideas?

Beestie 04-23-2004 08:17 AM

Nature follows some pretty basic but very elegant mathematical patterns.I would check out Fibonacci numbers , the golden rectangle and logarithmic spirals.

I'm not a big fan of chaos theory and, but for the beauty of the metaphor, the "butterfly effect" idea with its stretched-to-the-breaking-point logic would have never made it out of the research paper it originally appeared in.

You can also get some really cool ideas from scientists who have tried to explain physics in lay terms like Richard Feynman and Stephen Hawking but that might take a little longer than what you had in mind.

Good luck - sounds like a cool project. If possible, why not post the story here when you are through with it. I'd love to read it as I'm sure many here would.

SteveDallas 04-23-2004 08:20 AM

A classic.

Catwoman 04-29-2004 04:54 AM

Thanks Beest, I may well do that, although it is some way off completion...

That Fibonacci thing is interesting, and has presented a somewhat animated discussion point for at least two dinner parties. Cheers :beer:

Slartibartfast 04-30-2004 01:25 PM

Another Classic

MrKite 05-22-2004 02:54 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by Slartibartfast
Another Classic
Wow. :thumb:

DanaC 05-22-2004 07:03 AM